Bill Nye: The Controversy Guy

Revisions, Feedback, Thoughts

While there haven’t been any comments since writing the last post, it was by far the most viewed. I want to thank everyone who read it for taking the time and giving it a chance, I hope you enjoyed it. If you didn’t, leave a comment and tell me why; I want to hear what I am doing wrong so I can improve. With that said, let’s get on with the show.

Bill Nye: The Controversy Guy

Capture+_2017-04-29-23-03-50

A man who touched more kids than Jared from Subway, although in a different way (until rumours come out in 10 years); Bill Nye was a childhood hero of mine. He was my first scientific inspiration; and while I never pursued a career in science, it’s always interested me. I loved watching his show at home, and loved it even more when we got to watch it in school. 4 years ago when my son was born, Bill’s show was one of the first things I downloaded so I could fill my son’s brain with his knowledge. My kid will know more about 1990s science than any other kid in school!

I never imagined my childhood hero would turn out to be such a controversial figure. Since his show ended, Bill has become an vocal supporter of climate change, the gender spectrum, and other left-wing ideals. He’s probably one of the most recognizable figures in the scientific community, and is considered an expert (by some) in most fields he discusses

To many young Liberals this has been a huge source of confirmation bias, as it’s an informative figure from their childhood, so they believe everything he says. He’s a spokesperson for many of their ideals, and is a champion to a generation.

Capture+_2017-04-30-00-03-03

On the other end of the spectrum are conservatives. They seem to be a mix of older people who only know him as an “actor” on a kids show; and those kids who either didn’t like the show back then, or liked it and now feel alienated by him for preaching something they don’t believe in.
The main argument the Right has again Bill is that he “only” has a B.S. in Engineering. There are a few reasons this is absurd. For one, engineering requires knowledge in physics, which is obviously a field of science. Secondly, you can obtain knowledge in a subject without going to university for it. It’s especially hilarious when conservatives say this as many of them believe elite universities to be places that babysit spoiled brats while they’re brainwashed into becoming Liberals. Finally, and probably most importantly​, the definition of a scientist makes no mention of requiring a degree.

Something that the Right has against him, that becomes increasingly hard to ignore, is that Bill is a Liberal puppet. Since I do consider him a scientist, I tend to believe he uses the scientific approach of testing theories and trying to disprove them before proclaiming them to be correct. This is where I’ve allowed some bias of my own, as since he’s a childhood hero I’ve always given him the benefit of the doubt. But really, I don’t know if he’s a good scientist.  Maybe that’s a discussion that needs to happen.

But it’s just a little suspicious that everything he believes aligns with leftist ideals. Don’t be surprised if they are getting him ready for a 2020 Presidential run, with Neil DeGrasse Tyson as his Vice President. All the WikiLeaks releases in the world couldn’t​ derail that train. There is also this conspiracy theory that is completely plausible.

Capture+_2017-04-29-22-50-48.png

4 thoughts on “Bill Nye: The Controversy Guy

  1. Interesting article, “Don’t be surprised if they are getting him ready for a 2020 Presidential run, with Neil DeGrasse Tyson as his Vice President.” That would be an interesting combination to see run.

    Like

  2. It’s funny, I never watched his show. I only ever learned about him from Reddit. And ““only” has a B.S. in Engineering”? Yeah. B/C what does that have to do with science … 🙂 Maybe they are thinking B.S. stands for the other thing, and not bachelor of science

    Like

    1. Well some think engineers aren’t scientist, and others think that since he didn’t graduate in something related to climate change that he can’t be an expert. Apparently they don’t know you can continue learning after school

      Like

Leave a Reply

